WhatsApp on Android: How to stop WhatsApp saving photos on Android phone

WhatsApp is regularly used by 1.5 billion people around the world. The popular chat platform is incredibly successful as it allows pictures, videos and even files to be sent for free. But WhatsApp does have it drawbacks, as the app automatically downloads this media to your phone, swallowing data allowance and consuming storage.

How to stop WhatsApp saving photos on Android:

Begin by opening WhatsApp and go to the window where chats are shown.

Then select Settings, the three vertical dots on the top right hand side.

Head to Media Auto-Download, where you will encounter three options: When Using Cellular Data, When Connected on Wi-Fi and When Roaming.

Disable auto-downloads by unchecking all three options, Images, Audio and Video.

You will have to download photos sent via WhatsApp to view them.

WhatsApp saves this media in a folder found in your your phone’s Gallery App.

However, it is possible to stop these photos from appearing here.

Download and open the Quickpic app, then navigate to the WhatsApp media folders.

This WhatsApp folder is typically found in Internal Storage, sometimes labelled sdcard0.

Then long-press the WhatsApp Images folder to select it and do the same with the WhatsApp Video and WhatsApp Audio folders.

Once all three folders are selected, tap the three dots icon on the top-right to Hide it.

This will ensure the Gallery will not display this media, although they will remain visible within WhatsApp.

How to stop WhatsApp saving photos on Apple iOs:

Begin by opening WhatsApp and select the Settings button in the bottom-right corner, the select Data and Storage Usage.

This menu will prominently present the Media Auto-Download option.

For Photos, Audio, Videos, and Documents, select the Never option.

Now only the files you choose to download manually will appear on your phone.

WhatsApp media can additionally be prevented from appearing on the iPhone’s Camera Roll.

Simply visit Chats in the Settings menu, open the Save to Camera Roll menu, and turn it to off.

This stops media sending via WhatsApp from appearing up in the Apple iPhone Camera Roll, and taking over your synced Photo Stream.

Source: Read Full Article