UFC 259: Drama erupts as Petr Yan illegally knees Aljamain Sterling and loses bantamweight title after disqualification

PETR YAN threw away his bantamweight belt after illegally kneeingAljamain Sterling in a dramatic disqualification loss.

The Russian appeared just a round away from retaining his title after racing to an early but tight lead at UFC 259.

But in a moment of madness, Yan kneed Sterling, an illegal shot as the challenger was on the floor.

Referee Mark Smith warned the champion of Sterling's position on the ground, but still the intentional shot was thrown.

It resulted in mixed emotions for Sterling, who was crowned the new champion after a DQ.

He even THREW the belt to the ground but was clearly struggling with the affects of the knee, as the American was helped out of the octagon.

After the win, Sterling, 31, said: "Not the way I wanted to win. I just took the belt off.

"I was trying to continue being all f***ed up. I was in bad shape. That would have been ego taking over."

The scorecards revealed Yan was winning in the eyes of two of the judges.

And UFC commentator Joe Rogan was remarkably told by Khabib Nurmagomedov that Yan's corner told him to throw the strike.

The fight started with an electric pace, as Sterling pressed forward.

But in the last two minutes, Yan turned the momentum around after a perfect straight right hand dropped the challenger, visibly shaking him.

Sterling was also floored with a hard leg kick, and conceded the remaining minute of the first after being slammed before the buzzer.

Sterling again came out quick in the second, looking to grapple but his attempts were defended well on the floor and against the cage.

He ended the round swinging, maintaining the pressure by forcing boxing specialist Yan on the back foot.

Yan asserted himself as the aggressor in the third, sensing Sterling was tiring, but remained calm controlling the distance.

He looked the fresher of the pair and doubled his striking output, and landed a trip takedown.

Round four was competed largely on the feet with Sterling pressing the action, but Yan landing more affectively.

Then, out of nowhere, Yan's illegal blow left Sterling all-but knocked out andunable to continue.

It meant he surrendered his title with referee Smith forced to disqualify the 28-year-old.

MORE TO FOLLOW

Source: Read Full Article