Netflix warns users of ‘account suspended’ email scam sent by vile hackers

At a time where everyone seems more vulnerable as a result of the national lockdown, disgusting internet hackers are busier than ever, targeting people across the country in order to steal personal details.

Streaming giant Netflix has warned its users to be wary of a scam which is targeting customers, claiming their accounts will be suspended.

Some users have reported receiving emails that say Netflix was unable to "validate your billing information".

It then asks customers to verify their information and threatens to suspend membership if action isn't taken within 48 hours.

The scam reads: “We were unable to validate your billing information for the next billing cycle of your subscription therefore we’ll suspend your member if we do not receive a response from you within 48 hours," GrimsbyLive reports.

It adds: "Obviously we'd love to have you back, simply click restart membership to update your details and continue to enjoy all the best TV shows."

This is, in fact, a scam and a Netflix spokesperson has said: "Did you receive an email or text (SMS) requesting your Netflix username, password, or payment method? If so, it probably did not come from us."

If you have received a suspicious text or email appearing to be from Netflix, do not click any of the links or open any of the attachments.

  • Will there be a Season 2 of Bridgerton on Netflix? Cast, release date and plot

Instead, the company has urged people to forward the email to [email protected]

The spokesperson added: "If your email is rejected when you forward it, it means we have already received a copy of the phishing message. You don't need to do anything else except delete the email or message."

Netflix also wrote that they will never ask customers for any of the following in a text or an email:

  • Credit or debit card numbers
  • Bank account details
  • Netflix passwords
  • We will never request payment through a 3rd party vendor or website.
  • If the text or email links to a URL that you don't recognise, don't tap or click it. If you did already, do not enter any information on the website that opened.

Source: Read Full Article